Free rides continue at Clinton Transit

Clinton Transit will continue fare free rides through July, 2020 to help the community get re-connected to services.

Sarah and Fran are there to schedule your rides.
(989) 224-8127
“The Blue Bus”

MMDHD schedules virtual meeting

Virtual Finance and Regular Meetings of the Mid-Michigan District Board of Health will be held on Wednesday,
June 24, 2020 beginning at 8:30 a.m. (Finance Meeting) and 9:00 a.m. (Regular Meeting) and broadcast from
its Gratiot County Branch Office, Ithaca, Michigan, conducted with the Board of Health members and staff
participating in person and the public participating virtually due to the highly-contagious COVID-19 virus and to
assure compliance with federal, state, and local health guidance and requirements.

The public will be afforded the opportunity to address the Board of Health with comments, including any item not on the agenda. To participate by video, access the following link: To participate by phone, call (978) 990-5135.

The online meeting ID is mcheatham5 and the Access Code is 6086585#.

The public wishing to participate will be muted during the business portion of the meeting. During the Public
Comment portion of the meeting, the Chairperson will request comments and the public will be unmuted at that

This meeting is open to all members of the public under Michigan’s Open Meetings Act and the Governor’s
Executive Order 2020-75. The Mid-Michigan District Board of Health will provide necessary reasonable auxiliary
aids and services, such as signers for the hearing impaired, interpreters, and audio tapes of printed materials
being considered at the meeting, to individuals with disabilities upon advanced notice.

Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the Mid-Michigan District Board of Health immediately by emailing, writing, or calling:

Cynthia M. Partlo, Board Secretary
615 N. State St.
Stanton, Michigan 48888-9702
(989) 831-3610

RBW Class of 1964 schedules Annual Class Picnic

The Rodney B. Wilson High School St. Johns Class of 1964 has scheduled their 5th Annual Potluck Picnic for Sunday August 30. 2020. The classes of 1963 and 1965 are welcome to join them.

Participants should plan to arrive at 12:30 p.m. at the Main Pavilion of the St. Johns City Park.

Bring a dish to pass and your own Beverage. All Paper products will be provided, plates, napkins,bowls, silverware and table covering and and tags. Lots of outlets for Crock Pots and Coffee Pots, etc. will be available. You might want to bring Lawn chairs

** Masks and Social Distancing will be required

For more information you may Contact Jan Ernst-Chick at 989-630-9021.

Spring Clean up is now Fall Clean up

Spring Clean-up is now Fall Clean-U. Mark your calendar for Saturday, September 19.

The same rules will apply as in the past. Watch for more information in the upcoming weeks.

His Cup Runneth Over is back

Spread the word that free meals are served on Tuesdays from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at First Congregational Church, St. Johns.

Drive up and they will bring your meals out to you. If you need delivery call or text 517-388-2005 or 989-544-5764 by 11 a.m.

Local college students recognized

Grand Valley State University announces the names of students who were placed on the dean’s list for the Winter 2020 semester concluding in April.

Saint Johns:
Megan E. Goerge; Elizabeth A. Henry; Lucas R. Jandernoa; Aubrey E. Kiel; Anna N.
Krumm; Morgan A. Leavitt; Ryan E. Madar; Damian N. Martinez; Riley A. McCann; Abigail O. Murray;
Megan K. Soros; Olivia M. Trombley; Ashley P. Van Ells; Hunter M. Welch

Avery M. Armstrong; Frankie K. Bosanic; Grace S. Brown; Michael C. Brumley; Hailey N. Ciesluk;
Mason J. Cordes; Brina R. Crown; Charles P. DeLong; Madison M. Dingeldey; Abigail M. Gray; Melissa
G. Gyurich; Zachary A. Hakes; Zachary S. Harring; Lewis C. Hartsig; Stella M. Hayes; Dawson W. Heath;
Brendan R. Kahl; Charlotte E. Kleitch; Christian A. Langer; Merideth A. Nakfoor; Nicholas M. Neros;
Jenna C. Neumann; Jesse M. Pierce; Caleb C. Poe; Gabrielle A. Ponze; Noah C. Rahall; Davis W.
Straus; Kristen M. Strojny; Nicholas G. Vanis; Ellie E. Willemin

Olivia A. Groves; Emily R. Spitzley

Tiffany R. Martin; Haley M. Perrien; Madison K. Simon

Trenton C. Barker; Olivia R. Nurenberg; Lucas A. Pohl; Claire L. Simon; Kayla P. Spitzley;
Morgan R. Thelen


Elizabeth Wojtysiak of Dewitt, MI, has been named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2020 semester at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Wojtysiak is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Environmental Studies.


A virtual commencement ceremony was held this spring at Iowa State University to honor the nearly 5,100 graduates who earned degrees. The traditional on-campus celebrations were moved online as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. University leaders recorded three commencement ceremonies to honor graduates.

Following are graduates from the area:

Fowler, MI
Jack Myers, Bachelor of Science, Dairy Science


Katherine McKinney from DeWitt, MI was recently named to the Dean’s List at the College of William and Mary for the spring 2020 semester.